Wow, I haven’t posted anything in a long time.

13 01 2009

My apologies to all my diehard fans. I’m sure these past however-many days and weeks have been hell for both of you.

If you’re curious as to why I haven’t been updating like I should, it’s because you’re a nosy asshole who should mind his own damned business. It’s also because I am no longer the laid-back country boy I was nine or ten months ago. My plate is almost completely full.

With what, you ask? Why, all of my fun extracurricular activities, of course!

I know I told you guys about the game review job. Well, turns out it was like totally for-reals, as they say in Maine. I have received two (2) free ($0.00) video games in the mail, and have written one and 3/4 reviews of them. To briefly paraphrase my work so far:

Far Cry 2 is a fucking terrible game.

Prince of Persia is

I’ve already submitted the first review to the poor misguded soul who appreciates my writing, though the version I sent her is a little longer. Prince of Persia, as it happens, is really long. According to Gamespot, it’s 50+ hours of story. Over fifty hours of gameplay in story mode, and that’s not counting the many hours a person like me can spend becoming perfectly, helplessly lost. Even if I could somehow make it through the entire game without a single hitch, I’d still have barely enough time to do my usual “real-life” stuff. I have a girlfriend, a  job, a dog, and a band-if I needed more than 4 hours of sleep a night I’d be screwed.

Then there’s the whole issue of me not owning either a PS3 or an XBox 360, and having to resort to camping out on other people’s consoles. Let me not get started on that topic.

Also, I am in a bluegrass band. I jammed with (or auditioned for, apparently) three incredibly talented guys who have played together for five years, and I managed to mangle pretty much everything they threw at me. Evidently the damage wasn’t severe enough to warrant kicking me out of the band I didn’t know I was joining, so I remain happily in a pretty awesome bluegrass band. I’ve learned that bluegrass lead guitar is fun, but if you want to be good at it it’s a hell of a challenge. I still haven’t worked up the nerve to solo in front of the guys, which sounds like the filthiest gay innuendo ever uttered in my blog.

Sorry about that.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

