I remembered to title this one.

2 10 2008

I told myself I was going to post tonight, and by God I’m going to, even if it involves forgetting to title the entry and neglecting to save it when I close my browser. I’m fulfilling another personal obligation to “write at least two sentences” right now. Now that’s out of the way, we can get down to business.

It’s weird, if you ever notice it, how so many young people are excited by the apparently inevitable economic nosedive we’re about to take. They jitter like deer and turn sideways at you, shoulders out, in this odd defensive gesture when they talk about it. I gather it’s going to be a lot like the ’60s, except with more nuclear holocaust and less of everything else. 

Speaking of which, have you ever wondered what modern America would look like after a complete financial meltdown? It’s a scary thought, all those fat suburban kids digging up potatoes in their flowerbeds. We’ll be like Eastern Europe, with some of the states getting by on trade and agriculture, but many others simply burning out, slowly starving to death between periods of civil unrest and seasonal weather disasters.

Of course, I may have skipped a few decades in my description; the wastelands won’t just appear today or tomorrow, but one day you might look around at all the efficient cinderblock compounds and say, “I can’t believe this is where I grew up.” I could lay some pretty heavy chain-email-style Truth on you suckers, but I don’t have the energy. Just know that the images are badly cropped and the misspelled captions are poignant enough to be harmful to your liver.

In other news, I narrowly avoided buying a junk PC tower today. The guy had it all spruced up and wanted $70 for it, which I found fair given the amount of comparatively high-performance shit in the computer, so we set up a place to exchange. Then, last night, he fired it up for a test run. The fan stopped working almost immediately, which evidently went unnoticed until the CPU went kaboom. Whoops.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

