My favorite Man vs Wild is the one where Bear’s face explodes.

24 09 2008
...starring David Allan Grier!

Heard prior: "...starring David Allan Grier!"

I don’t know how many of you are fans of the Discovery Channel show, Man vs Wild, but I love it. Even in the face of the “man vs hotel” fiasco, I found the show interesting and compelling. So what if he receives outside assistance? He still ate that fucking monitor lizard raw, didn’t he? That at least deserves a little respect.

Having said all that, I have to admit that my favorite episode of Man vs Wild is the one where Bear Grylls is stung by a bee because he robbed their hive of honeycombs and neglected to cover his forehead. An “oversight”, he called it.

 Right.

Anyway, Bear proceeds to cross the desert and as he goes along, his face progressively swells as he reacts to the bee sting. This in itself isn’t funny, and the image isn’t really either; the image is just plain old unsettling.

Always decompress before returning to the surface.

Remember: Always decompress before returning to the surface.

I remember being actually afraid for him for about five minutes, longer than any other survival series. I actually cared about a t.v. personality’s well-being. I’m getting soft.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

