Surprise visits from family members

25 08 2008

So I got a phone call from my brother on Friday. He and my uncle were planning to head p here to help get my cousin–a brand-new freshman at Texas State–somewhat acclimated to San Marcos before school starts Wednesday. The addition of two other cousins and the proximity of the river made for a weekend-long drinking binge, interspersed regularly with enormous meals.

My family, such as they are, are crazy people. I don’t mean that in the “Damn nigga, y’all crazy” kind of way. I mean more like the way people who are “characters” are also called crazy. There’s just a lot of personality in each of them, and it manifests itself in outward expressions of friendliness and drunken babble.

All this revelry was facilitated by my uncle, Everett, who, like my mom and the rest of their siblings, is now moderately wealthy following the death of their father. What’s weird about Everett, though, is that he was always like that. If you were out doing something, and there was some way to make that something kick more ass, he was up for it, regardless of the cost. It was about the fun more than anything, which is always nice.

My mom, on the other hand, has not handled her windfall with anything resembling Everett’s calm reserve. Her television is as big as my couch, and her truck’s onboard computer is better than my PC. Okay, maybe not, but that’s only a slight exaggeration.

Anyhow, here I am kicking back on a cool Sunday night/Monday morning, drinking free beer and listening to what sounds like inexperienced college kids outside in their new-to-them Nissan Sentras, sliding around hopelessly on the wet roads and praying, for what it’s worth, that if they get in a wreck, please don’t let the cops find the loaded dugout in the glovebox. It’s a tough change for those kids, and some of them are going to flat lose their shit come Wednesday.

Good luck!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

