It’s like deja vu, except not all over again.

25 06 2008

You ever have one of those mornings where you wake up feeling like someone just pulled the wool over your eyes in a major way? Like maybe you missed out on something, and nobody’s telling? It’s the sort of feeling you got in elementary school, when you’d wake up at your regular time, only to remember that you were supposed to be there an hour earlier to leave for the class field trip to the zoo. It’s that “Well, fuck” hopeless feeling when you have a flat, no spare, and a pretty good idea of who slashed your tire.

It’s the Snake-eyes Effect. That’s what I call it, anyway. That feeling when a crapshooter rolls blanks and the whole room gets brought down. How, even if you’re not really aware of the possibility, you just know there’s a letter from the county attorney in your mailbox, or that your sick relative who was “in remission” is now in the morgue. It’s a pervasive feeling, but not one that can be nailed down and analyzed. 

Anyway, that’s how I felt when I woke up this morning. “Someone’s fucking me around,” I thought. “Some asshole is shitting all over my nice Wednesday before it’s even really begun.”

I don’t know who exactly it is, or what’s going on, but rest assured that by the end of the day, I’ll know. It’s going to be something big and stupid and formerly unavoidable. It’s also likely to not even involve me, but somehow I’ll be dragged into it anyway.

Count on it.

More on this later, as the story develops.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

