I found an actual use for YouTube

29 05 2008

So, as the title may suggest, I’ve figured out what YouTube is actually good for: watching old music videos I never got to see while growing up. 

I grew up during the tail end of the Grunge era, and started listening to “my own” music around the time of Kurt Cobain’s death. I think I got into Nirvana just about the time Bradley Nowell of Sublime kicked off. I seem to have a thing about getting into bands during their twilight times. 

Anyway, now I’ve found a metric shit-ton of Soundgarden and Alice in Chains videos, and I couldn’t be happier. Instead of wasting my time watching a bunch of clips of tweens kicking the shit out of each other (oh, they’re on there, all right), I can now pore over videos of my favorite bands that I never got to see while growing up, by reason of being too poor to afford cable. 

Also, in those days, MTV was strictly a subscription channel in most areas of south Texas. Probably because of Beavis and Butthead. 

So, if you get the chance, head on over to YouTube and check out some Soundgarden. Or, if you’re a little hard-edged, check out Alice in Chains’ “Man in the Box” or “Them Bones”. I guarantee your face will be thoroughly rocked.

Actions

Information

One response

23 06 2008
bradley nowell

[…] good for: watching old music videos I never got to see while growing up.? I grew up during the tahttps://blatantschroederisms.wordpress.com/2008/05/29/i-found-an-actual-use-for-youtube/Jackets lead the way on All-Conference teams Roanoke Rapids Daily HeraldIt was quite a spring for […]

Leave a Reply

