The filth in country music, and why I’m beginning to hate my job

3 03 2008

At the risk of earning the ire of yet another insane C&W fan, I have to send out a word of congratulations to whoever wrote the following lyrics:

“Why don’t you stay? I’m down on my knees. I’m so tired of bein’ lonely, wanna give you what you need.”

Now, it may just be that I’m incredibly immature, but that little sampling of lyrics just smacks of desperately offered fellatio. It makes the singer sound like a woman in the last extremity, who has been broken down so much by the weight of her solitude that she has finally chosen to put her absent lover’s genitalia in her mouth, provided that he come back to her.

I’ve had girlfriends like this, actually.

Whatever the actual point of the song, I like my interpretation better. Not only does it speak of a pronounced increase in oral sex awareness, but it also gives me ammunition to use the next time someone complains about sexuality in rock and roll. Not only that, but it instructs young girls everywhere that, in order to keep their men, they might have to blow them.

About the job: I am getting intensely bored with my job. Not “bored” in the Office Space sense, or even in the Fight Club sense. No, I’m getting bored with my job in the “Christ, there is nothing left to DO here” sense. Things have slowed to a crawl at my company, so much so that I can call in whenever for no good reason, and no one gives a shit. I don’t like working for people who won’t fire me.

On top of all of that, I’m going to be moving soon. San Marcos is over seventy miles away, and I just don’t see commuting back and forth five days a week to a job that really isn’t very fun. Add this to the fact that I might be getting married* soon, and you’ll see why I kind of don’t care about my job anymore. 

That’s about all that’s new in my world today. Oh, that, and my girlfriend convinced me to shave my stomach. Don’t ask.

*More on this later, as the story develops.

Actions

Information

7 responses

4 03 2008
The filth in country music, and why I’m beginning to hate my job

[…] deepgoa wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptAt the risk of earning the ire of yet another insane C&W fan, I have to send out a word of congratulations to whoever wrote the following lyrics: “Why don’t you stay? I’m down on my knees. I’m so tired of bein’ lonely, wanna give you what you need.” Now, it may just be that I’m incredibly immature, but that little sampling of lyrics just smacks of desperately offered fellatio. It makes the singer sound like a woman in the last extremity, who has been broken down so much by the weight of her solitude that she has finally chosen to put her absent lover’s genitalia in her mouth, provided that he come back to her. I’ve had girlfriends like this, actually. Whatever the actual point of the song, I like my interpretation better. Not only does it speak of a pronounced increase in oral sex awareness, but it also gives me ammunition to use the […] […]

4 03 2008
Kelly

I did not convince you. You asked me if you should. I said yes, there’s not much twisting involved in that.

As the story develops.. you make us sound like headline news : )

Ok, I guess we are.

4 03 2008
The Schroederist

No, dear. I asked you if I really should after you suggested it. Twice.

4 03 2008
Kelly

I don’t think so. It was more of a mutual agreement if anything. Besides, the only thing that matters, is that you now have a stubbly stomach.

4 03 2008
The Schroederist

That’s true enough. It is pretty stubbly and irritating right now. Still, though, it was your idea.

4 03 2008
Kelly

Just go shirtless. Its not like anyone will care. Was not.

4 03 2008
wahsatchmo

You reminded me of a Sarah McLachlan lyric in Sweet Surrender:

I only hope that I don’t disappoint you when I’m down here on my knees

Come on now. Is there really any valid interpretation of this lyric other than the obvious in a song called Sweet Surrender?

Leave a Reply

